06 Sep 2022


At St Andrew’s, we are proud of our long history of pioneering youth work.

St Andrew’s Home and Club for Working Boys began as a residential home for young men on St Andrew’s day in 1866. The Club was responding to the horrifying conditions that faced children in London’s slums. Boys aged 12 to 18 paid their wages to the Club, in return for a safe place to stay, an education and a range of sports activities. Read more about our history here:

Times have changed, but huge challenges remain. And St Andrew’s continues to evolve to ensure it continues to serve the needs of its community.

Since girls were admitted in 1966, our doors are now open to young people from 4pm to 9pm every weekday in term time and during the day in school holidays. Understanding our members’ needs is the first priority in all we do. With this in mind, we are excited to announce the launch of our fresh new identity.

Developed over several months of research, interviews, narrative and refinement, our friends and supporters at global creative agency, Dragon Rouge have designed our new identity – completely pro bono - reinvigorating how the St Andrew’s Club brand appears across all our communications. With input from our members, our Youth Workers, our Trustees and our supporters, we now have a new image to reflect our personality as we forge ahead with our mission to support and enrich young lives.

So what has changed?

Our flexible logotype

Bold and clear, the word mark is based on the street signs around Westminster. The introduction of the words “youth club” make a statement about who we are and what we do.

Flexible adaption of our logo creates both the ‘And’ shorthand and a simple symbol. The ‘And’ shorthand helps to express the variety and scale of what we achieve together in our messaging and the symbol expresses the space we create to do that.

Our iconic symbol

At its simplest the symbol, ever-present within our logo, represents the universal symbol of a house – in the style drawn by young children all over the world. Our house offers shelter, safety, friendship, fun, opportunities – and its doors are always open. It is used across the brand identity as a distinctive asset – one that helps to create a coherent system for design – that shows growth, clear direction and momentum.

Our vibrant palette

We now have a St Andrew’s colour palette to work with that will ensure consistency across our communications, while allowing us to flex our creativity and ensure we are vibrant, diverse and recognisable.

The master ‘Andrew’s blue’ represents our bright personality and is supported by a dark blue reflecting our more traditional heritage and link to our previous logo. The fuller palette provides fun opportunities to showcase our activities.  

Working with St Andrew’s has been hugely rewarding and a wonderful opportunity to contribute (in some small way) to the next chapter of the Club and its ongoing legacy at the heart of Westminster. We are happy that the refreshed sense of purpose and new identity now rightly reflects the vibrancy of the activities, people and ambitions of the Club.” Becky King, Creative Director, Dragon Rouge




A blue and white logoDescription automatically generated with low confidence



IconDescription automatically generated





A picture containing icon

Description automatically generated



Description automatically generated with medium confidence


As we open our doors to the new academic year, we’re excited to work with this inspiring new identity and hope all our members and supporters enjoy our fresh look.

Thank you for helping St Andrew’s Club to continue enriching young lives into the future.

How our brand identity has evolved over the years

St Andrew’s Club was born on 30 November 1866 as a residential Home and Club for Working Boys in Market Street, Soho. The original name is still a mystery – with some claiming the Club was named after the day it was born, St Andrew’s Day, and others after a long-demolished church near Westminster Cathedral.

Whatever the origins of the name, the Club had always borne the Scottish saltire in its logo as it moved to different premises over the years – evolving from a residential Home and Club; to incorporating a Club for non-residents in 1858; to an evening only Club in its premises at 26 Great Peter Street which opened in 1957; to one that allowed girls to join in 1966; to its current site at 12 Old Pye Street.

The saltire has served the Club well and we now bid it a fond farewell.


A picture containing text

Description automatically generated

A picture containing logoDescription automatically generated